On Eagles Wings…..

Just another WordPress.com site

Nashville Pre Race

We arrived in Nashville on Thursday, checked into the hotel along with lots of other Team in Training – TNT participants from around the country.  After check in we proceeded to the expo, picked up my race packet and looked at all the vendors displays.    If you ever want to break one of the key rules and buy your running gear or shoes a day before the race that would be your chance.  But if your luggage was lost of you forgot something then I know I would be looking for new gear at the expo.   Then we got a chance to check out downtown Nashville on foot.   A city always looks so much different when you are running or walking.   I do have to say that the city of Nashville was very, very clean!   Either the same crew that cleaned up Detroit before the Super Bowl had made a sweep thought there, or it is always that way.  But it is a very clean, and a city that we all felt safe in.   While checking out the city we stopped at the Country Music Hall of fame and saw some cool artifacts, hit a couple souvenir shops, and saw where all the bars and night spots were at.  That evening we had a Michigan Team social at one of the local bars, good food, talked it up about the race and how people felt.   I was feeling my age that night so after that I went back to the hotel and got some much needed sleep.

 

Friday morning Coach Ken took us on a short run.   We got to run and see the finish line area getting set up at the Titans Stadium.  It was a nice and easy run to stretch out.   Friday afternoon Amy came into town with her Mom so we all had lunch with her friend Lindsay who was also in TNT but from Chicago.  Amy was kind enough to bring up a toaster and some Eggo waffles since they drove up so that I could honor my pre-race breakfast.  Thanks Amy!  My Dad flew in and his plane arrived in the evening.  That was so cool and unexpected of him to do that.  It really helps having someone to get you back to the hotel or home after a long race.  That evening we went to the TNT Pasta Party.   Lots of good pasta, some emotional moments, and also a chance to see all of the TNT runners/walkers that were going to be in the race.   I think there was about 800 participants from TNT.  Plus we got to see John “The Penguin” Bingham speak.  He was hilarious on his view of running and the marathon experience.  If you get a chance you should check out one of his books or see him speak.  Here is a link to his site:  http://www.waddleon.com/  After the Pasta Party we went back to out hotel, took some group pictures, and also got some last minute inspirations from Yvonne, Ken and Veronica.   Below is a group picture.  If I get a better one I will post it, plus all of the Nashville pictures that I receive I will put in the Photos section of my Blog site.  (Hint: Where is says Slideshow select Full View so that you can see the pictures better.  Or click on Photos on the top menu next to Blog.)  So after laying out all my race gear for Saturday morning I tried to get some sleep.

May 1, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Congrats, Al!  Looks like you had a great time.

    Comment by Rorai36 | May 2, 2006 | Reply


Leave a comment